Council on Highways and Streets 

AASHTO Liaison
Jim McDonnell, P.E., Program Director for Engineering

The Council on Highways and Streets OVERVIEW


AASHTO’s Council on Highways and Streets (CHS) is the foundation for the AASHTO transportation family – AASHTO started as a highways and roads association back in 1914. Today CHS provides and represents the technical expertise of AASHTO. CHS manages the development of policies, guidelines, standards, and publications that are not only recognized by our members, but also by many countries worldwide.

Each member Department of Transportation (DOT) – the 50 States, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia are entitled to a seat on this standing committee. The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the member DOT assigns a representative, who is most often the DOT’s Chief Engineer. The committee officers include the chair, vice-chair, secretary, and AASHTO liaison. The voting members total 52.

CHS meets twice each year, at the AASHTO Annual Meeting and the AASHTO Spring Meeting. Its committees, task forces, and other special groups largely do the committee’s extensive work and report activities to the standing committee officers and voting members. The members of CHS – the chief engineers – oversee the business and work of CHS’s other committees.

The dedication to improving our highways’ design, construction, maintenance, operations, standards, traffic devices, and materials is shown in the shared goals and activities of CHS and its subgroups. Examples of the committee’s extensive work include active participation in many areas that include the development of guidelines for design, product evaluation, specification standards for construction and maintenance, security and more.

Summary of Rules for Assigning Professional Development Hours (PDHs)If you attended a CHS committee, task force, technical committee meeting that provides PDH certificates or want information about professional development hours certificates, please select one of the following contact the AASHTO Liaison responsible for the meeting. AASHTO Staff Listing.

Standing Committee on Highways NCHRP 20-07 Research Projects